Cavan to Galway

dscn0693

10/31/16

Yesterday morning, I was sitting in my friend’s flat in Galway hearing sounds of the city as cars drove past four stories below, and some one was banging on what sounded like a massive steel wall. Seagulls were making their calls as they flew between the city and the bay, and my stomach was churning from the Guinness I consumed the night before.

After arriving in Galway two days ago, I found Holden tucked in the corner of a Starbucks. We caught up while walking to his flat where I dropped my things and we went to dinner. After dinner, we went to a new hip gastro pub and drank bourbon and gingers as we both longed for our Kentucky home. The next spot was kind of 80s retro. Then, we went ono the Crane where we listened to traditional music and drank Guinness until it was time to go home. I couldn’t have asked for a better night out on the town.

After showering and attempting to soothe my stomach with a scone and a coffee, Holden and I spent a very Irish day biking around Inishmore, one of the Aran Islands. It was breath taking, and the most beautiful sights couldn’t possibly be captured in a photograph.

This morning, people are still partying and singing in the street at 7am. This kind of morning seems very different from the ones experienced in Cavan, quiet except for the sounds of birds chirping and mice scampering across the floor. Before I left Cavan, I got to see a calf born with the help of a vet, and my hosts sent me warmly with veg from the garden and fruit bread that I got to share with new friends and old in Galway. Tomorrow, I head for a farm near Ballinasloe with horses, and I’m ready for the new adventure. 14875258_1118254864925450_1716192220_n

 

 

Leave a Reply

