Irish Cobs

I begged for a horse from the time I could talk until I realized it was probably never going to happen. To be fair, my mom did what she could putting me in horse camps and I traded work for being able to ride one summer, but living here at Irish Cobs between Ballinasloe and Athlone is the most regular and frequent time I’ve spent working with horses. I’ve been here one week as of today.

Here’s what I’ve learned so far:

  1. Horses are basically shit factories. I mean, I know they’re big animals, but my new Spanish friend, and fellow WWOOFer, Elena and I spend most of the morning scooping poop from the stables. After finishing, I have to give them all more hay knowing I’m just going to have to scoop their shit again in the morning.
  2. I somehow really enjoy the horse shit smell now. I don’t know what has happened to me, but the smell is sweet now. I guess it’s good, though, because everything I own now smells like it.
  3. Give new places three days before making your mind up. I honestly didn’t feel very comfortable here at first. The main house is so much nicer than any other place I’ve lived, and Elina and I have a whole trailer to ourselves. It’s just so different than anything I’ve experienced, but now, I really like it here, and am starting to enjoy the giant shit factories they call horses.
  4. I don’t want to work with horses. The family and other workers here are wonderful, but I found working in a horticulture setting and with cattle to be much more rewarding. I’m sure I’ll enjoy this work for the next week that I have left, but I won’t pursue this professionally.
  5. If you don’t do something for six years, you’re probably going to suck at it when you try again. Go figure, right? I used to be a pretty good rider. I’d go really fast on these big show horses and have a blast. Well, today, I fell off a pony twice, and it sucked a lot. Luckily, it bruised my pride more than my ass.

This time next week, I’ll be in Morocco visiting my lovely friend Callie. Hopefully, by then my legs won’t feel like noodles.

In other news, I’m doing a fundraiser for an organization I care deeply about called Ixtatan Foundation. If you would like to donate or share the fundraiser with your friends, you can do that here, and I’d greatly appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

